On the New Year and New Resolutions

2011 was definitely a roller coaster of sorts. I spent a month volunteering in Africa, Hearts were broken- literally, hours were spent in hospitals anxiously waiting through bypass surgeries and stent placements, I started grad school, celebrated weddings, and completed my first marathon.

But through all of these events, I have come to realize that we are capable of so much more than we may know.

And however insignificant or unattainable they may seem, I think it is important to set goals. Ultimately, only you can determine what you are capable of becoming or creating or accomplishing.

To the handful of people that may stumble upon this post, I encourage you to put yourself out there. Do something you didn’t think was possible. Do something a little silly, a little daring.

Some things on my list?
Complete a 50k ultra marathon
Finish two chipotle burritos in one sitting
Plan trip to Nepal
Practice yoga every week
Improve my Spanish/ASL
Try a new recipe every month
Aim for at least 7 hours of sleep each night
Read at least one book every month

Will I accomplish everything on my list? Probably not. But I have the whole year to find out.

And if you don’t take a moment to examine what you want out of life, then what? After all, you only live once.

Looking for inspiration or don’t know where to start? Here are some interesting articles that you might want to check out:

3 Steps for Setting New Year’s Goals that Actually Work

Popular New Year’s Resolutions

New Year’s Resolutions: Start Small, Dream Big

New Years Resolutions and 31 Days of Healthy Eating

Kind Classics: My Thoughts about Celebrating the New Year

“How often in life we complete a goal that was beyond the capability of the person we were when we started it.” -Robert Brault

Leave a Reply

