HalloWednesday

Happy HalloWednesday, everyone! Have you checked out all these awesome VeganMoFo bloggers?

Each Wednesday, I will be sharing some Halloween-inspired recipes, pictures, articles, etc. Because who doesn’t love Halloween?? Today just so happens to include lots of pumpkin.

I think I’m in need of a pumpkin-tervention. I can’t stop.

Breakfast was pumpkin oatmeal with chocolate chips, toasted walnuts, and maple cinnamon protein pudding. Delicious.

And when I can’t sneak pumpkin into my food, I still manage to find a way to make everything pumpkin-y. Exhibit A: pumpkin shaped tortilla chips.

And what would be better than pumpkin-shaped treats?

Answer: Chocolate, pumpkin-shaped treats.

Almond Joy Pumpkins

(Makes 12 Pumpkins, feel free to double or triple quadruple the recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 3 tablespoons agave nectar
  • 12 almonds
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

To make this into a pumpkin shape you will also need a mold. I used a pumpkin shaped ice cube tray. (Make sure your almonds will fit in the tray. You could also cut them in half, if necessary.)

1. Put the coconut in a blender and pulse until it becomes powdery, like this:

2. In a small bowl, combine coconut and agave nectar.

3. Ready for the fun part? Press the coconut mixture into a ball and form around an almond. I ended up with some leftover coconut. If this happens to you, don’t panic. You could simply make extra pumpkins, add the mixture to oatmeal, or eat it with a spoon (I won’t tell anyone). Crisis averted.

4. Place almond balls in the refrigerator to chill. I’m impatient so I stuck them in the freezer.

5. Get your mold ready. I added some coconut oil for easy removal.

6. In a double boiler (or microwave), melt chocolate chips.

7. Option 1: Dip almond balls into chocolate and place in mold. Add chocolate to fill any spaces, if necessary.

Option 2: Scoop chocolate into mold and press almond ball on top. Cover with more chocolate.

8. Repeat with remaining almonds.

9. Place tray into refrigerator/freezer to cool.

10. Try not to eat them all at once. Or do. I won’t tell anyone.

Can’t everyday be HalloWednesday? I’ve already got a few ideas for these bad boys:

Have a great day! See you again tomorrow!

9 thoughts on “HalloWednesday

Leave a Reply

