Figgy-licious

Hey MoFo’s, have you heard about the Iron Chef Challenge? The first secret ingredient will be chickpeas! I love this little legume in any form- roasted chickpeas, hummus, falafel, chickpea flour- you name it. I’m excited to see everyone’s creations! If I am still able to walk this weekend/don’t die, I want to try and come up with my own recipe too. (Did I mention that I’m attempting going to run a marathon this weekend??)

I spent today appreciating the feeling of being able to move. And remembering that I willingly signed up to run 26.2 miles. Followed by questioning my sanity. And then, contemplating Larabars. Because they are so delicious, afterall.

Dates + Cashews= Yum

This I know to be true. But what would happen if another fruit was added to the mix? Dried cranberries, raisins, banana chips. The possibilities are endless. So I rummaged through the pantry and pulled out some dried figs. After a little experimentation, I arrived upon a new conclusion.

Dates + Figs + Cashews= Figgy-licious

Figgy Larabars

(makes 3 large or 6 small bars)

  • 1/2 cup cashews (raw, unsalted)
  • 1/2 cup pitted dates
  • 1/2 cup dried figs (or you could use all dates)

In a blender (or food processor), pulse the cashews until finely chopped. Place cashew pieces into a bowl. Cut the dates and figs into pieces and add to the blender. Pulse until no large chunks remain. Combine all of the ingredients and form into a ball. Press mixture into desired shape.

If you want to get really creative, you can use cookie cutters to make fun shapes and designs. I formed a rectangular shape and cut it into 6 pieces.

With this basic recipe, you could easily add or substitute other ingredients. Peanuts and cocoa powder? Coconut or dried peaches? Don’t be afraid to experiment. And enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Figgy-licious

Leave a Reply

