Getting Lost in the Trees

“Going to the woods is going home”

John Muir

 

 

It has been a busy week. So when my alarm clock went off Friday morning, I didn’t feel bad about hitting the snooze button. A few times. I had big plans to fit in a long run before class that morning. But sometimes you need to listen to your body when it’s saying you need more sleep. You might say this was the start of a coincidental series of events that led to an amazing discovery.

I woke up later feeling well rested. Lately mornings have involved large amounts of caffeine and a rush out the door. It was nice to have a little extra time to enjoy breakfast and breathe for a minute. My classes went really well that morning (I was only teaching – next week starts molecular immunology on Fridays!). After lunch I finally set off on my run. I had planned to run down the road towards the city. Trails will always be my favorite place to run, but at least it was a way to get off the track. And the view wasn’t horrible.

But as I ran further down the road, I found myself myself in the middle of construction and heavy traffic. I decided to turn down another street. I just wanted to get the miles in. So I continued running. I was considering turning back until I saw an apartment complex that looked nice. I thought it might be nice to run around there for awhile. But the road I was on soon came to a dead-end. Which exactly is when I noticed the trail.

Of course my curiosity convinced me to follow that trail. And I’m so glad that I did. The next think I knew, I was winding up a hill and surrounded by trees. I discovered a complete network of trails that I had almost run past. And that is how I found myself getting lost among the trees, moved by the sound of my own feet beating against the earth.

The deeper I went, the more I wanted to continue exploring. Eventually I had to turn back. I didn’t want to get caught in the dark. But I’m absolutely certain I will be spending plenty of time there.

treetree

By the time I got home, the sun was setting.

Which not only meant I had just enough daylight to make it back, but it was also getting close to dinner. And I was getting hungry. So I bought some tofu and vegetables and turned on the rice cooker. By the time I was done stretching and taking a shower, I had perfectly cooked black rice.

Daily Rice

 

Leave a Reply

